New Traffic Commissioners appointed

23 January 2012  •  Source: Department for Transport (DfT)

Two new Traffic Commissioners have been appointed by the Secretary of State for Transport, Justine Greening. Nick Denton and Kevin Rooney will be Traffic Commissioners for the South Eastern and Metropolitan Area Traffic Office and North Eastern Area Traffic Office respectively and will take up their new roles in the Spring.

The Traffic Commissioners are responsible for the regulation of bus, coach and goods vehicle operators, and registration of local bus services. Where appropriate, they can call operators or individual drivers to a Public Inquiry where concerns about service operation or driver conduct can be heard.

Nick Denton is a civil servant at the Department for Transport and currently heads the Freight Policy and Lorry Charging Division where he has most recently worked on HGV road user charging policy and the trial of longer semi-trailers.

Kevin Rooney is also a civil servant and is currently Head of Corporate Office and Head of Corporate Communications at the Department for Transport’s Vehicle and Operator Services Agency where he has a long history of developing and implementing new ways of improving compliance and road safety.

The South Eastern and Metropolitan Area Traffic Office covers Greater London; the Counties of Kent, Surrey, East Sussex and West Sussex; the Districts of Brighton and Hove and the Medway Towns.

The North Eastern Area Traffic Office covers the Metropolitan Boroughs within South Yorkshire, Tyne and Wear and West Yorkshire; the Counties of Durham, Northumberland, Nottinghamshire and North Yorkshire; the Districts of Darlington, East Riding of Yorkshire, Hartlepool, Kingston upon Hull, Middlesbrough, North Lincolnshire, North East Lincolnshire, Nottingham, Redcar and Cleveland, Stockton-on-Tees and York.

Nick Denton and Kevin Rooney will replace Philip Brown and Tom Macartney respectively, who both retired in October 2011.

Leave a reply